Little Stones

I have been annoyed by it for some time, but now I seem to be getting angry also. It is the same problem week after week. Someone is not being responsible, and really, someone is just not being kind to me at all. I’m starting to take it personally. I don’t know what to do about it. It is a mystery to me. It bothers me most when I am mowing the grass or edging the front lawn. And it’s been going on now for over two years!

Someone is throwing their cigarette stubs in my driveway at home. Dorothy has assured me that she is not the one doing it. I’ve asked her. None of my neighbors smoke, yet a cigarette lands in my driveway or front yard three or four times a week.  My neighbors do not have this problem. We live in the middle of the block. Our street is so wide that there is a median designed to hold twelve parked cars way out in front of our house. And none of our neighbors host that many parties. I have drawn up a very short suspect list: the mail carrier, the newspaper carrier or the UPS guy (we do get a lot of delivered packages). One other possibility would be someone who might walk around the neighborhood every day.  Most people who are walking for exercise do not smoke at the same time. The newspaper carrier never stops to throw the paper. So I am really down to the mail carrier or the UPS guy. The UPS guy changes all the time, so now I am left with the mail man. Does he always light his cigarette at the same place, at the same moment so that he is always ready to throw it a away at my house? Doesn’t seem likely. I’ve never seen him smoking. Ever. The mystery deepens.

If I can’t fix it, change it, or confront the culprit, all I can do is face it, deal with it and wait for the culprit to change. Waiting for someone else to change so my life will be better means I have to change my attitude. If I don’t it could become the little stone that rubs a blister that becomes infected and cripples my walk and makes me sick. Anger and grudges are tricky like that. The only way to stop the blister is to remove the stone. How do I remove the stone? I have to quit waiting for my life to get better when someone else changes, and just forgive them today.

Keep healthy. Pray mightily. Enjoy your life today. Take out the stone.  And let’s experience the love and power of God together.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

