Getting Lost

I am not afraid of getting lost anymore. Those who know me best know that I am like a compass. I am under the firm impression that I am always facing north. This usually leads to me finding all sorts of new places to explore. Some places are better than others. I understand the phrase, “We need to turn around.”

I do get Lost, though. The TV series Lost is coming to a conclusion this month after six (count them) six years. For all of this time, viewers have tried to follow the adventures of an airplane load of passengers who crash-landed on an island somewhere. The plane was lost. The passengers and the viewers are still totally lost. The story is so complicated there are whole hour episodes given over to “Previously on ‘Lost.’” Lost is a “Twilight Zone” science fiction, time-shifting government/corporate cover-up, spooky computer game, cowboy version of “Baywatch.” Characters have died, babies have been born, some dead people are still alive, and some characters are living parallel lives as if they never were “lost” at all. SPOILER ALERT: I think something will be found at the end.

People love to get lost and try to find clues to draw their own map of the way out. The joy of getting lost is part of the adventure. Getting lost always leads to something being found. I read, in an un-attributed source, that over a typical American lifespan we spend three years on the telephone, eight months opening junk mail, and one year looking for things we have lost. If we are not careful, we can spend a lifetime being lost. I’m not afraid of getting lost for I’ve learned that it’s all right to turn around. It also helps to have a destination, a current map, a GPS-compass, and someone to navigate the journey with you.

Keep healthy. Pray mightily. Enjoy your life today. Go from lost to found.  And let’s experience the love and power of God together.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

